A Day to Remember – Common Courtesy

ADTR_CC_COVER1. City of Ocala 10/10

2. Right Back at It Again 9/10

3. Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail 10/10

4. Dead & Buried 9/10

5. Best of Me 10/10

6. I’m Already Gone 9/10

7. Violence (Enough is Enough) 8/10

8. Life @ 11 7/10

9. I Surrender 9/10

10. Life Lessons Learned the Hard Way 8/10

11. End of Me 10/10

12. The Document Speaks for Itself 9/10

13. I Remember 10/10

It’s been a long and tough road for A Day to Remember in order to release their 5th studio album, Common Courtesy. Well the wait was well worth it, even though the wait was not entirely of their own doing. Common Courtesy sounds like a mesh of their previous albums put together, but pushed to another level. The production is heavy yet not all that heavy that it’ll turn off a casual hard rock listener. Frontman, Jeremy McKinnon, mixes his screaming and singing very well and it evens out perfectly working them into songs that need them and ones that don’t. The lyrics are pretty profound, like in the song “Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail” declares: I reserve my right to feel uncomfortable reserve my right to be afraid / I make mistakes and I am humbled every step of the way / I want to be a better person / I want to know the master plan / Cast your stones / Cast your judgement / You don’t make me who I am. Those lyrics and many others shape up one of the best rock albums releases of 2013.

Album Average: 9.07

Standout Track: Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail

Leave a Reply

